News and Notes from The Johnson Center

Psychotherapy for People on the Autism Spectrum

JCCHD | Mon, June 18, 2018 |

Psychotherapy can address some of the skill delays, secondary symptoms, and comorbid conditions that are often associated with autism spectrum disorders (ASD); however, therapy approaches that are successful for people with ASD might be different than those used for the general population, and a skilled and experienced therapist must take this into account.

Here are some areas in which psychotherapy might benefit someone with ASD and things to consider when looking for a therapist.

Who might benefit?

Many people believe that individuals with ASD cannot receive psychotherapy due to cognitive and/or language challenges, or they believe that only people with “high functioning” autism can benefit. While it is true that people with autism who…

Read more

Take Action for Autism in 2018!

JCCHD | Thu, March 01, 2018 |

webiste

Read more

Free Webinar 3.1.18

JCCHD | Thu, February 22, 2018 |

clincal time

Read more

Free Webinar 2.26.18

JCCHD | Wed, February 14, 2018 |

counselingweb

Read more

ADHD Workshop

JCCHD | Thu, February 08, 2018 |

adhd2

Read more

Free Webinar 2.8.18

JCCHD | Wed, February 07, 2018 |

camp webinar

Read more

Teddy Bear Clinic

JCCHD | Tue, January 30, 2018 |

teddy bear clinic

Read more

January 11, 2018 Webinar

JCCHD | Wed, January 10, 2018 |

web2

Holiday Open House

JCCHD | Wed, November 15, 2017 |

xmas 3

Read more

Costumes for a Cause

JCCHD | Wed, November 01, 2017 |

costumes

Read more

Page 1 of 22 pages  1 2 3 >  Last ›